June , 2019

Just days after being named a finalist for the Clair B. Award, Radford head men’s basketball coach Brad Greenberg was presented the 2009 Red Auerbach Award at the American Jewish Coaches Association Annual Breakfast and Meeting Saturday morning.

The award is presented annually at the Final Four to the most outstanding Jewish American Basketball Coach of the Year.

“Red Auerbach won more NBA championships than anyone in pro basketball history,” commented Coach Greenberg. “It is a privilege and an honor to receive this award.”

This year’s finalists as selected by the Jewish Coaches Association were Brad Greenberg (Radford), his brother Seth Greenberg (Virginia Tech) and Bruce Pearl (Tennessee).

“Auerbach was a role model and inspiration to all coaches, especially Jewish ones. It is especially meaningful to be honored by the Jewish Coaches Association which recognizes the need to mentor, develop and befriend Jewish coaches across the country.”

In just two years on the bench of the Highlanders, Greenberg has guided his club to a number of school and Big South records.

This past season Greenberg led his club to the biggest turnaround in league history, earning him 2008-09 Big South Coach of the Year honors. After finishing seventh in 2007-08, Radford claimed its fourth Big South regular season title and just its second tournament crown in school history.

The 2008-09 season began with a feel of the past as Greenberg’s Highlanders played their first nine home games in the 500-seat Peters Hall, before concluding the campaign in front of a school-record 20,226 fans in the first round of the NCAA Tournament in Greensboro, N.C.

Just after leading his club to the 2009 NCAA Tournament, Greenberg was tabbed the Richmond Times Dispatch State Coach of the Year.

Along with leading the Highlanders to their seventh 20-win season in school history, Radford tied the conference record for league wins in a season with 15. Greenberg’s Highlanders also won a school-record nine-straight games away from home, which is currently the second longest streak in the nation.

Also a finalist for the Hugh Durham, Greenberg is the first Highlander head coach since 1991-92 to earn conference coach of the year.

To go along with Greenberg receiving the coach’s honor, Duke’s Jon Scheyer received the 2009 Dolph Schayes Award, given to the most outstanding Jewish American Player in 2008-09.

via Radford University

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments

The Jewish Coaches Association was founded in 2006. The organization supports Jewish college, high school and youth basketball coaches and administrators around the World.

Recent Posts