May , 2019

The five finalists for the 2015 Red Auerbach College Coach of the Year Award were announced today. The Red Auerbach Award is given annually to the nation’s top Jewish college coach, as voted on by the members of the Jewish Coaches Association (JCA). The winner will be presented with the award at the Final Four in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Larry Brown – Southern Methodist University

In his 3rd season at Southern Methodist University, Coach Larry Brown led the Mustangs to a 27-6 record and their first trip to the NCAA tournament in 22 years.  The Mustangs won both the American Athletic Conference (AAC) regular season and tournament titles, and finished the regular season ranked 20th in the AP Poll.

Steve DeMeo- Northwest Florida State College

In his 2nd season, Coach Steve DeMeo led the Northwest Florida State College Raiders to a 29-2 record as well as the Panhandle Conference regular season and FCSAA/ NJCAA Region VIII tournament titles.

Scott Garson – The College of Idaho

In his 2nd season at The College of Idaho, Coach Scott Garson guided the Yotes to a 30-6 record and an undefeated season at home. The Yotes won the Cascade Collegiate Conference (CCC) Regular Season and Tournament titles and reached the Quarterfinals of the Division II NAIA National Tournament.

Matt Gordon - Phoenix College

In his 11th year with Phoenix College, and coming off the programs first National Championship, Coach Matt Gordon lead the Bears to another incredible season. The 2015 team accumulated a 27-5 record and captured the ACCAC Conference Title as well as NJCAA DII Region 1 and District 1 Championships.

Larry Shyatt - University of Wyoming

In his 5th season at the University of Wyoming, coaching veteran Larry Shyatt led the Cowboys to a 25-9 record, the Mountain West Conference Tournament Championship, and the programs first appearance in the NCAA Tournament since 2002.

In 2010 the Jewish Coaches Association named its college coach of the year award after Red Auerbach, the coaching legend who won 938 games (a record at his retirement) and nine National Basketball Association (NBA) championships as a coach. As general manager and team president of the Celtics, he won an additional seven NBA titles, for a grand total of 16 in a span of 29 years, making him one of the most successful team officials ever in the history of professional sports.

Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.

Comments are closed.

Recent Comments

The Jewish Coaches Association was founded in 2006. The organization supports Jewish college, high school and youth basketball coaches and administrators around the World.

Recent Posts